Faculty Student-Staff Liaising Committee

Committee Activities

The Academic Quality Enhancement Framework (AQEF) of the Wayamba University of Sri Lanka enables the effective and efficient monitoring of academic standards and the quality of the student experience in relation to internal and external requirements. The Student Staff Liaison Committee (SSLC) is an opportunity for course representatives to feedback on behalf of their fellow peers on areas of good practice and areas that need to be improved. Students have an opportunity to raise issues via their SSLC. This feedback is considered by the faculty as part of the annual monitoring process.

Scope & Objectives

  • Facilitating greater communication between students and academic staff
  • Identifying the areas of concern to the students and /or staff
  • Assisting the student inputs at all levels of decision making
  • Disseminating the examples of good practices within the departments
  • Promoting the engagement of student participation in quality assurance and enhancement

Key Principles

  • Providing an accessible forum to enable students to discuss teaching, learning and student support issues with staff in an open manner, within the framework of the formal structures
  • Encouraging the resolution of issues and improvements at a departmental level through regular discussions
  • Ensuring that discussions and resulting actions are documented and disseminated to the student body represented through the SSLC
  • Operating with transparency through the publication of SSLC minutes to all current students.

Committee Members

Dr. A.M.N. Alagiyawanna

The Dean & Chair;

The Head – Department of Construction Technology

Prof. C.A.N. FernandoThe Head – Department of Nano Sciences & Technology
Dr. J.M.J.W. JayasingheThe Head – Department of Electrotechnology
Dr. I.P.M. WickramasingheThe Head – Department of Mechanical & Manufacturing Technology
Dr. M.S. KandanapitiyeThe Coordinator – Faculty Quality Assurance Cell (FQAC)
Dr. R.A.N. DilrukshiDepartment of Construction Technology
Mrs. W.H.S.M. WickramasingheDepartment of Electrotechnology
Mr. R.K.W.H.M.K. ElkaduweDepartment of Mechanical & Manufacturing Technology
 Department of Nano Sciences &  Technology
Mrs. E.M.S.S.K.EkanayakeAssistant Registrar
Student Representatives