Department of Electrotechnology

Degree Program

Bachelor of Engineering Technology Honours in Electrotechnology degree programme is designed with the total credits of 120 to 129. Specialization courses are offered from Level 2 – Semester II onwards after selecting the students for different specialization areas. 

The course units are designed to produce graduate engineering technologists with a broad knowledge in Electrotechnology with relevant foundation knowledge in Mathematics, Basic Sciences, Information and Communication Technology. Course units under complementary studies provide the relevant non-technical subject knowledge to complement the technical subjects.

A student who has completed the Degree of Bachelor of Engineering Technology Honours in Electrotechnology will be able to demonstrate that they have knowledge and understanding of the core subject areas of:

  • Electronic fundamental (Analog and Digital)
  • Electrical circuit analysis and design
  • Electronic control and instrumentation
  • Microcontroller-based design
  • Electrical power, electrical machines and electrical installation
  • Communication technology
  • Computer systems, computer architecture, and computer programming
  • Engineering measurements
  • Mechatronics and industrial automation
  • Industrial engineering, industrial health and safety, and business law
  • Principles of management
  • Mathematics and computer-based applications


The structure of the curriculum with all course units available for a student who wishes to specialize in Electrotechnology programme : For more Information : Click Here


Department of Electrotechnology,
Faculty of Technology,
Wayamba University of Sri Lanka,
Sri Lanka.


+(94) 37 2282759